PHOENIX

The phoenix arrived earlier than expected at the end of an action packed day in the city.

It began at dawn with my efforts to fasten the broken buckle on my Gucci motorcycle boot with duct tape.

my ever-present motorcycle boots

my ever-present motorcycle boots

I didn’t think it would hold, so I wound a hot pink fishnet sock over it.

No way.

The color clashed with my lipstick.

Why the urge to wear boots all of the sudden?

Then, I arrived at PS1 to see Kenneth Anger’s Scorpio Rising for the first time.

Ed Rubin watching "Scorpio Rising" at PS1

Ed Rubin watching "Scorpio Rising" at PS1

As my companion, Ed Rubin, said:”this film is all about accessorizing!”

Yes, Anger captured the kundalini rising all right, the base of the spine on top of the seat of the fire engine red motorcycle!  One particular accessory rammed this message home.  And the old film images of Marlon Brando and James Dean!!   Kundalini in action!

Burn, baby, burn.  That is the Calcinatio.

Next up was Lucifer Rising, which revealed the full scale alchemical transmutation.  From fire (Calcinatio) as a blood ritual accidental overflow, to water (Solutio) in the bath, to Calcinatio, the earthy female in the cave, and finally the sublimatio, the winding stairway climb of the ethereal Psyche to reach the mysterium coniunctionis of the God and Goddess.

To work the Great Work to perfection ,the alchemical process has to repeat itself again and again.  The four phases are inside of every individual phase.  And after every phase there is death.

So, I after experiencing Solutio (water) at PS1 by walking down the stairs to go UNDERNEATH an indoor swimming pool…

Indoor Swimming Pool Installation, PS1, Long Island City

I was ready for Death.

So, I traveled to English Kills Gallery in Bushwick for Marni Kotak’s ” My Grandfather’s Funeral.”

"My Grandfather's Funeral" found performance piece by Marni Kotak

"My Grandfather's Funeral" found performance piece by Marni Kotak (on right)

"My Grandfather's Funeral" a found performance piece by Marni Kotak

"My Grandfather's Funeral" a found performance piece by Marni Kotak

This, the latest of her “Found Performances” was very moving.  I interpreted it as the “death of the patriarchy,” which could explain all the merry making (several bottles of empty wine at the garden bar) beforehand.

Marni’s eulogy was very moving.  She seemed to have found herself in her “found performance”…

Marni Kotak reading her eulogy at "My Grandfather's Funeral"

Marni Kotak reading her eulogy at "My Grandfather's Funeral"

And I couldn’t help but contemplate my own father’s funeral, and the funeral of the patriarchy, on account of the Solar Eclipse.

When Marni handed out carnations to place on the coffin at the grave site, I held onto mine and snuck back through the velvet curtain…

REDCURTAINJPG

…and walked with it to Williamsburg, where I met Jason Tallon at Phoebe’s Cafe.

JASONASPHOENIX

He was wearing his Phoenix shirt!

Leave a Reply

